DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, im in need of some help tuning my system. This is my first attempt at tuning a 3 way and im having a hard time getting it to sound good. Everything looks good when i measure, but it keeps sounding quite harsh and shouty. Hopefully someone will be able to give me some ideas to try to calm it down a touch.

I am using a 3 way set of AF GB's in mostly stock locations in my Toyota 86. The Gb60's are in the bottom front corner of the front doors completely deadened with MLV and all that jazz, Ive glassed them into the door panels with a solid baffle made from several layers of 1/4in pvc and 6in schedule 40 pvc pipe to vent into the door and not be behind the door panels. The GB25's are in the corners of the dash up firing into the windshield using 1/4 in plexi baffles sealed up to the stock grills with some CCF weatherstripping. The GB10's are up in the A Pillars mainly on axis aimed a few feel behind the front seats center of car at the moment (I am still playing with positioning and want to figure this out before glassing them in and having to redo it). And a gb12.4 glassed into the trunk with 1200RMS. The 60's and 25's are being run off of a JL 600/4 getting 150 RMS each and the tweets are being run off an audio control ACM 4.300 getting 50 RMS.