DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just installed a new car audio system and everything works great aside from the tweeters being way too loud, even on their -3db setting in the crossover box. I'm a complete newb so the understanding of capacitors and resistors are beyond me. I've seen L-Pad calculators online but I don't know what the wattage is that goes to the tweeters in the component system, just that my entire component system does 100W RMS. I'm very handy with wiring things up and would have no problem doing what I gotta do, it's just a knowledge issue on what I need.

I have a Pioneer GMD9705 2000W 5Ch Amp
Polk dB 6501 6.5in component door speakers, 100W RMS
Polk MM1 842SVC 8in sub 300WRMS
4x Pioneer Pioneer TSA878 connected directly to head unit rear left and rear right wires, and not to amp. They are wired in series to be 8ohm

My door speakers are bridged in the amp and receiving 200W RMS. Gain is set very low on amp. The problem is that my tweeters produce a loud sound floor type of noise, like the kind of sound you hear if no music is on, everything is silent, but you turn your volume knob all the way up and you hear that "pshhhhhhhhhhhhhh" white noise type of sound. My tweeters simply sound like they have the volume turned all the way up, while the 6.5s do not have this problem whatsoever. If I turn the volume down, the tweeters just drown out the 6.5s because they're too loud.

My friend who works on car electronics, but not really car audio, said "I need a .1 capacitor." I don't know what this means, but I've been reading that what I actually need is an L-Pad? I don't really know what wattage is going to my tweeters out of the 100W RMS rating polk says goes into the component system altogether. I found an online L-Pad calculator but it wants the watts that go directly to the tweeter which I don't know.