DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:D I love this forum, this is the best forum I have found. Anyway to the point I have a 1996 BMW 318i sedan and I have custom door panels that hold two 6" - 8" drivers. The door itself has a spot for a 4.5" midrange and a 2" tweeter. I have owned the MB Quart 3 way set for 3 years, and the PCE 5.25" currently. So to aid you in assisting me with some choices, here are some of the issues. I am not using th custom door panels currently. The 5.25" are mounted in kick panels and the tweeters in the stock top door location. I do not like the tweeter in either set, they are too bright, I have attenuated them both at -6 db, and also eq'd them down 2 - 3 db on the last two bands of my Pioneer premier deh 860. I listen to big variety, and I am also a musician. Currently I am listening to Supertramp, Audioslave, Rush, Men at Work (don't laugh), Madonna, and Matt Redman. I have read through all the forums and some of first choices would be as follows; Tweeters: Morel Supreme, Dynaudio esotar, Scanspeak revelator. Drivers Seas Excel or Scanspeak Revelotor.

I have been also considering using the active croosover of the HU?
I love my music to spacious, open, natural, with not a lot of color. I also like to drive my speakers hard at times. I felt that the MB Quart were missing some detail (better than a lot that I have heard), I am just very picky like the rest of you in this forum. I also want to notice a nice difference in the new set. Is using 4 midbass drivers up front too much with just two large housed tweeters not right? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
415 Posts
sounds like money isnt a problem since youre considering the Seas Excels and ScanSpeak Revelators!

also sounds like youre looking for some ribbons!

Fountek NeoCd3.0S Ribbons in kickpanels
http://www.madisound.com/cgi-bin/index.cgi?cart_id=%Êrt_id%%&pid=1889

and