DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

Toneloc suggested that I start a build thread as I have a lot to learn and hopefully can contribute along the way. I have been installing and enjoying car audio as a hobby for ~20 years. This is my first vehicle with factory integration, DSP and running speakers active. All of the vehicles that I have owned and done before utilized an aftermarket headunit, traditional amplification and running speakers passive.

The goal with this Jeep is to have a stock looking, stealth install while sounding fantastic.

The gear is:
  • PAC Pro module for factory source integration
  • Zapco ADSP-Z8 IV-8 processor/amplifier combo unit with controller
  • Hybrid Legatia L3SE in the factory corner dash locations
  • Hybrid Unity 2-ohm 6.5" in the factory dash locations using Metra pods
  • Sundown SD3 10" sub (for now, not happy with performance on this amp)
Currently the system is installed and the sub is in a temp sealed enclosure while I fabricate a hidden location in the rear floor cubby. I am disappointed in the output of both the sub and midbass right now. It is there, just not what I was hoping for. The imaging though and overall clarity is fantastic. The soundstage is up high about mid height on the windshield and about a foot out on the hood. So cool...

So, now the questions. Tuning help. Also, a mic that is affordable and user friendly? Lastly, ideas on a sub? I want to use a sealed enclosure and ideally have it hidden in the rear floor cubby. I believe a shallow 12" may be able to live there with enough airspace to be happy. Anyone have experience with the JL 12TW3? I would be able to feed it 240 watts per coil as right now I am only able to feed my Sundown 240 in total.

De-stickered and already looking better. Will tint front windows to match rears and will eventually do wheels and tires.

My old Willy's I traded in on the new one.

Now the good stuff.