Discussion Starter #1
My setup:
HU JVC KD-A815
Amp Infinity Kappa 5 chanel, 50Wx4+200x1-4ohm or 75wX4+300x1-2ohm
Front components infinity kappa 60.9cs 6.5" 90w rms nominal imp 2ohm
Rear speakers infinity kappa 693.9i 6x9 2 way 110w nominal imp 2ohm
Sub 1 fosgate svc 10" RL1 in a sealed box 150w rms
Ran 4 gauge wire to amp 16 gauge to speakers and 14 gauge to sub
Amp gains set at 12.1 volts to speakers and 27.9 volts to sub with volume set at 33 of 50 on HU.
Fronts are crossed at 60kHz rears at 90kHz and sub At 80Hz and sub sonic at 30Hz sub voulme set at 6 out of 8 in HU and boost set yo 0db in amp
I have a few problems with this set up the first is that the amp will go on self protect mode when the voliume is higher than 27 of 50 on the HU whe i play alternaive rock or heavy metal. Also if i cross the fronts at 90 or 120kHz the sound in the front is empty and hollow. Also the sub doesnt seem to be very loud. Being my first car audio system im just learning as i go. I would appreciate any advice and help to try to make this set up as best as i can.

·
Registered
6,376 Posts
I have the 4ch kappa amp, its all 4 ohm not had any issues with it. Put a DMM on the power at the amp, then run it hard while watching it, see if the voltage falls way down. If so check bad connections or bad ground. Also make sure you have a body to battery ground at the battery, it does not have to be 4ga as it will be short.

First, xover is typically 80hz and work from there. I'd run the 6x9 low as you can under 80 if you can. The 6.5 you might run 80 might need to go little higher. If you like it loud note that is not a huge amp if you get into clipping you need a larger amp.