DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, Im new to the DIY area of car audio. Ive heard that it can be cheaper and can get more for your money, and since Im on a college kid budget, thats right up my alley. I have a average set-up right now, Pioneer DEH-7700, Kicker KX600.1 on a 1 cube foot box with a 05 type R Alpine. Im running my pioneer 3-way 4x6s up front and Rockford 5.25"s in my rears. Now the vehicle Im putting them in a 03 Wrangler. So the 5.25"s are going in the soundbar, kinda like already made pods. Now Im just pretty much interested in replacing the 5.25"s and not the 4x6 because you can't really hear them(too much outside interference :) ). Ill prolly be running a 2-channel Alpine or DEI amp to them...Something small like 70-80 watts. I listen to anything and everything, from Rock to Classical to Talk to Techno. And Im interested in doing basic 2-way components.....again college kid budget so maybe bout $200-$250 for the entire set. Thanks for reading my long story, any input is well appreciated.

·
DIYMA lurker
802 Posts
Most sound quality people will tell you not to spend any more money on your rear speakers. Put all your money into the front stage. Where/how are the front speakers mounted in a wrangler? With $250 and a little of your own labor, you could get a lot more out of your system than amping the rear speakers.

Dan

·
Registered
242 Posts
aja1732 said:
I listen to anything and everything, from Rock to Classical to Talk to Techno.
Peerless HDS: Very detailed and revealing with an agressive sound. The price is right too, they're about 90 bucks for a pair.

www.madisound.com

if you're a Rhythm and blues lover like me than these aren't for you...but from what you listed that isn't the case.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4