DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so this isn’t really a build log, but a modest mod to my new/existing system. I’m a newb to car audio (not SQ) and this is my first system (2 mos old) and just added an MS8 that replaced the LC6i. Don’t laugh :)

Using the OEM “floor” as a template, I traced the outline onto ½” MDF and started cutting away. LUCKILY the weather was mild for this time of yr and was kind of in a hurry to get as much done as possible before it gets friggin cold.

Anyway cutting the outline wasn’t a biggie but, trying to transfer all of the “resting” points was a bit much. The OEM piece slopes from one end to the other and is 5” at the back to 3”.

Anyway I was going to start cutting some spacers to raise the floor a bit, but then came across some dense sticky weather stripping (1/2" thick) the floor could rest on and figured I would give is a shot. Seems to work well.

Some test fits.

Add the sides and cut to clear all the little contours that keep it from seating properly

Routed the MS8 display cable and done for now. Can't believe how long it took just to get this done! Fits nice and snug though. Next will be to add the top piece.

Tacked some cable clamps to the floor so the wires stay put.

Here is my plan for the top. One piece would be difficult to get in/out. I think I will get two separate pieces and add a hinge (piano style) so it could be folded when I need access etc…I dunno, just a thought. Not sure if the hinge would be durable enough. I'll start that process shortly and if it seems to work, i'll get it carpeted etc. I'm still using the OEM top piece as it has strategically placed support pieces that rest on the tire, so I can still load items back there for a bit.

·
Registered
1,088 Posts