DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

Over in the uk, and whilst on Lockdown have been sourcing some components.
My Audi S3 bose system is not what I expected lacking in many area. So looking to completely take out and add a whole system with some audio bits I have stored away.
As family life took me away from car audio.
Found so much information on this site it's been a blessing

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Couple of questions:
My new set will be
  • Alpine ine w928r
  • Alpine PDX 1.600
  • Alpine PDX 4.150
  • Hertz Mille MPK 165 - 2way
  • Alpine SWR 12d2
  • Audison bit ten d - ( may sell and upgrade to Helix DSP) so many bad Audison reviews
I really want to go 3way with the addition of millie MP70.3, and build some a pillars, would this be difficult or should I stick to 2way? As I am a novice to unsure of tuning etc.
Alpine will be in a custom box using partially the old Bose sub area and a few inches of boot area side wall. Not keen on fibreglass, so opting for a plywood box made up of small pieces glued together to use up the space then body fill the gaps on the outside and milkshake the inside to seal it. same procedure for the a pillar.
any tips of advise on this as itching to make a start.

·
Registered
4 Posts
As I am a novice to unsure of tuning etc.
Alpine will be in a custom box using partially the old Bose sub area and a few inches of boot area side wall. Not keen on fibreglass, so opting for a plywood box made up of small pieces glued together to use up the space then body fill the gaps on the outside and milkshake the inside to seal it. same procedure for the a pillar.
any tips of advise on this as itching to make a start.
[/QUOTE]

I've built a lot of boxes over the years and it's really important to get it right (or as optimal for your unique circumstances) and probably a lot harder than you might first think.