DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi there DIYMA,

I give you fair warning, I'm new to all this stuff (probably obvious :D). Anyways, the setup:

-98 Civic
-Polk MM6501's up front
-DXi690's in rear
-Alpine MRV-F300
-Pioneer DEH-something HU

The issue is the 6501's. They sound like crap - as if I put paper cups around the woofers, tossed 'em in the doors and called it a day. Absolutely no mid bass and the mid range in general sounds...hollow?

My EQ is flat, I don't have any bass boost or loudness settings turned on, and the crossover is set to 80 hz at the amp (will be running a sub).

The lack of mid bass is probably due to the grand canyon sized access holes in the doors, but any idea on why they sound so bad otherwise? Could it be the plastic spacers I'm using? Or will sealing up the doors fix everything? This is driving me nuts!

·
Registered
626 Posts
I would start by verifying polarity. Use the fade to just play the front speakers. Then use the balance to play just the passenger speaker. Is the bass improved? If so, then slowly adjust the balance so both front speakers are playing. If the bass decreases as u move the balance toward the middle, 1 of the front speakers has reversed polarity.

If the front bass sounds better w/ both speakers playing, slowly turn the fader towards the rear. If the bass improves here, then there is a polarity issue between the front and rear speakers.

If none of this testing reveals any polarity issues, then the problem is probably due to the back of the speakers not being sealed off from the front of the speakers. The next more likely possibility (and may also be a contributing factor) is a flimsy mount.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Fading/balancing the speakers didn't effect the bass. I went through and checked the wiring again though to be sure, and it's fine. :worried: