DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,212 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to decide between a couple of options for a single 12" subwoofer in an enclosure behind the rear seat of my '04 Scion xB. The enclose will be flat and take the place of the spare tire, etc. with approximate maximum outside dimensions of 20" x 35" x 7"-8" (sealed or vented). Power will probably be two channels bridged to 4 ohm at 200-300 watts RMS.

My two front runners are currently the Peerless XXLS 12" (835017) and Image Dynamics IDQ 12 D2 V.3. This would be paired with a HAT Imagine I61-2 front stage.

Anyone have any thoughts? Anyone have ideal enclosure volume and port size for the Peerless? I've run some basic WinISD stuff, but I am far from a pro. Thoughts on round vs slot ports and how 90 degree turns affect the port(s)?

·
Registered
815 Posts
Get a slim 12 for under each seat. That would be totally stealth. But if I remember correctly you have a quite a nice xB.

·
Registered
8,524 Posts
Dunno about the ID but the XXLS has the nice feature that the pole venting is done through the back of the dust cap. So there is not vent on the back plate and as a result no need leave space for it. Reducing effective mounting depth.

And if you cut the back out of the enclosure where the magnet perimeter wound land, you can gain even more space be removing the enclosure thickness from the depth needed. Just cut precise and seal it up with some high density foam or silicon.

·
Premium Member
9,212 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
tintbox…