DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a windows tablet that I was talking to a local shop about installing in my ride. They told me that there is a 40% chance of engine noise with this type of install, and once you get it you can't get rid of it.

I'm not a pro by any means, but this doesn't sound right to me. Are they right?

In addition, does anyone know of any good shops in NC?

·
Registered
696 Posts
.That's BS, sounds like they just didn't want to do it or they don't know how to do it correctly, either way stay away.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
4,235 Posts
No, they're not nuts. The audio ground in the tablet and the power supply ground are probably the same. When you plug the tablet's power supply into the cigarette lighter and plug the audio cable into the audio system there will be a ground loop. You have 2 choices:

1. Use an isolated power supply (requires a DC/DC convertor).
2. Use a ground loop isolator (transformer type) between the tablet and whatever you plug it into.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Does it make a difference that the tablet comes with a power cable for the cigarette lighter?

·
Registered
8,524 Posts
No, they're not nuts. The audio ground in the tablet and the power supply ground are probably the same. When you plug the tablet's power supply into the cigarette lighter and plug the audio cable into the audio system there will be a ground loop. You have 2 choices:

1. Use an isolated power supply (requires a DC/DC convertor).
2. Use a ground loop isolator (transformer type) between the tablet and whatever you plug it into.
Or assuming a "windows tablet" is compatible....

Just get one of these and fo giet about rrit! (ie don't worry about fishing for an appropriate PS)

http://centrance.com/products/dacmini/cx/i/dacmini_case_study.pdf