DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This should be a simple enough fix, but I'm a novice, and I want to get a firm grasp of what I'm doing before I take my dash apart.

I have an Alpine w505 H/U in a '08 Tundra.
-no aftermarket amp
-factory JBL speakers and a small, poor excuse for a sub in the back

My problem is alternator whine. Increases with the RPM's of the truck, occurs when I play radio, CD, DVD, or ipod. I need to go check, because I'm not sure, if the whine is there when they ignition is not on, but the stereo is on.

The installer ran the power directly into the factory harness, and told me that it must be a bad head unit (nothing is his fault...) because the factory OEM harness goes to a dedicated factory ground that MUST be good/stable/clean.

So, after reading on here for hours, I assume that I need to run the power directly from the battery to the head unit.

1. Do you think I'm right?
2. Is there any chance that the installer may be right, and it is truly just a bad head unit?
3. What other methods would you recommend?

Your help is appreciated. I'm out a bunch of money, and I can't afford to take this to another install shop if I can possible fix it myself.

·
Registered
465 Posts
I would try a new ground, ground it temp to something metal in the dash and see if that helps.

However if you have the JBL system in there you have an amp. Most likely right below the factory cd player or behind the glove box.

Unless he bypassed it which might be the solution to your problem.

·
Registered
751 Posts
Do you have a Digital Multi Meter? A diode test helped me rule out the pico fuse or any other problems that "could have been" with my Pioneer 880...

Turn the DMM dial to the triangle looking thingy with a line in front of it...