DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Disclaimer: if you don't like this post, you're welcome to click back. I'm just looking for help from those more experienced willing to share their knowledge. I have very little first hand experience with car audio and just need some help with the basics that I haven't already found by searching the net.

About me: I'm a 31 year old male who happily drives a bone stock '03 VW GTI with a newer mid-level Alpine receiver. My music interests vary from 80's, metal, dance, indie/lo-fi, etc. I never listen to rap or talk about how hard something "hits" or "bumps" ((shutter))..

Part of the reason I am making this post is to make sure I am looking at products designed for people like me and not those people who post videos on youtube listening to horrible polished corporate hip hop trying to capture their sub on video on the verge of breaking. I am at the opposite end of that spectrum and sometimes question the advice I'm taking when I see stuff like that. I don't look down on SPL or hip hop, it's just not my market.

My goal is to spend around two thousand or less total on a system that will deliver tight detailed sound quality and plenty of output when I decide to get crazy. However, first and foremost, I do not want to bite off more than I can chew in terms of complexity (i.e. sound processors, bi-amping, custom mounting large speakers into my tight doors, etc) unless it's truly something I should try to overcome with my limited experience.

In the end, I see myself with a set of 6.5'' components in the front with approx. 100-125w rms each, two coax in the rear (possibly running bi-amped off the deck) and one 10'' or 12'' sub.

Brands I've been looking at so far:

Sundown amps
Hertz/Audison $$$
Fi Audio
Polk
Image Dynamics
SSA

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks,
Jake

·
Human (not a robot)
2,409 Posts