DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to buy a amp for my new typr r speakers i purchased for my 2007 crew cab silverado.

-set 1 for the front doors
Type-R 6-1/2" 2-way Component System
Power Handling:
Peak: 660 watts per set / 330 watts each side
RMS: 220 watts per set / 110 watts each side

-set 2 for the rear doors
6-1/2" Type-R Coaxial 2-way Car Speakers
Power Handling:
Peak: 600 watts per pair / 300 watts each
RMS: 200 watts per pair / 100 watts each

now i have two amps picked out that are in my price range

-amp number 1
MB Quart ONX4.125 ($165)

-amp number 2
MB Quart Q4.150 ($200)

now i am new to the whole audio deal, i have installed decks and just your every day speakers and decided its time to step the system up a notch by getting some speakers that i can amp. now my other questions are other then the choice of amp

1.which amp will be best and why?
2.should i wire my components(front door set of speakers) in series or parellel?
3.and any other information you think i should know before i go head first into this?

please make you replys easy to understand being i am new to this and the forum and would like some knowledgeable people to lead me in the right direction. Thanks

:NOTE: i am very sorry that there is no links for the amps you will have to google them quick for there specs. Reason being i do not have 5 points yet or something along them lines.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well the truck is a crew cab so it has 6.5 in all 4 doors and factory components in the front. so i will mount the coaxils in the rear in that 6.5 hole and the fronts where the factory 6.5 went and the tweeter where the stock one went. im new to this and would like to know if there is anything special like seal around the speakers for better sound quality. you ask that question like the speakers wont work in my truck?:confused: