DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have my Kenwood 2513ps running @ 450 rms from my Brutus, and it really isnt that much while driving. I just installed new 4 gauge wiring, and im installing my new Zeus amp today to get the most out of my speakers. I have my Amp tuned to about 110hz, as i am trying to hit the bass guitar in the the songs i listen to, as my speakers are pretty small. So, since i love SQ and hate that droning bass from ported boxes, will a 2012 Type R running 900rms be enough for me? Or does the Type R have to be ported to really shine? Im fairly new to everything, although i have installed everything cleanly myself.

·
Registered
12,053 Posts
if "droning bass" is your idea of a ported box. then you never heard one that was built correctly for SQ. ported box tuned to 50hz for SPL are not the only purpose for them :)

·
Registered
2,799 Posts
Yeah man you sound like your me and sealed just don't give guys like us what we want. For strong impact you want ported always. Some sealed subs give good impact and still don't suffer to much sealed but the jbl gti subs ported do incredible thongs my friend :) those type r's won't like ported very well but they'll do it. A nice image dynamic idq might do better

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk 2

·
Mobile Audio SQ
3,390 Posts
^^^^ That is a lot of misinformation and speculation
A sealed box can give you GREAT attack and bottom end when done properly, just like a ported box can be EXTREMELY musical and perfect for SQ. Its all in the construction and design, approaching the project with a clear idea of what you want and then asking either an experienced box designer and builder you know or somebody here for the help to get you what you want to achieve.