DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off I would like to say that I am by no means an audio expert so I will pose some questions that I would like to see discussed and learn from. My questions come from what I read on various audio forums & some local audio shops.

I see/hear these comments often:

a) X components are power hungry you need more power for them to sound good.

b) These X speaker really open up when you give them 200+ Watts.

c) If you have this solid state amp that have 10X the power of the tube amp you are currently using it will sound a whole lot better.

My questions are:

1) If my X components are being played with my amps with about 60% gain and to my listening level fine. If I replace my current amp with ZZZ which adds a bunch more power, will it sound better? Even at my listening levels? If it does sound better.. why?

2) My X speakers play loud enough for using my 40W/ch amp and not maxed out, will an amp with 200W/ch "open up" the sound? How so?

3) I've heard c from a home audio guy trying to sell me an amp to go with my Paradigms... I use my 13W/Ch Tube amp for my Paradigms in my room and they sound great and loud will a $5K amp that has 10x more power make my paradigms sound better?

Just for kicks.. I heard this from a salesperson from (insert store name here) telling one of his customers that "you need a high powered amp like this XXX because if you use a low powered amp you will blow your speakers"... :confused: if you over use and clip your amp yes.. but just by being lower power does not automatically make it blow.. we do this every time we turn down the volume.

·
Registered
12,054 Posts
yes, low power does not equal less quality. I think most of the time when people need alot of power to get a speaker to sound good, its because they are low efficiency speakers and they need power to get loud.

remember 10dB more sound take 10x more power.

·
Registered