DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
m putting together my own compnent set, Im just curious what are good traits to look for in a crossover? What specific features should I look for? And what are some good brands that are good but reasonably cheap? Im looking for a 3 way, to run misbass to the rear, mids and highs to the front, and lows to my sub. Now for the fronts I will be running component sets on their own, would it be better if I got premade component sets with passive crossovers for those? Or would it be also be better to run it with the crossover sending mids to all 4 door speakers, highs to tweets, and lows to subs. Im a relative newbie to this DIY approach, I understand the basics of crossovers and frequency tuning but Ive never done it like this, so please bear with me here. One more quck question, I understand that when not using a kick panel and putting the the main speakers in the doors down low with the tweets say in the door sail, that they can get out of phase. Do the electronic crossovers provide adjustments for this? The install clinic at ECA says that some people reverse the polarity of the tweet to delay it by 3ms or so but is that safe to do?

·
Registered
265 Posts
Re: Putting together component set, help with crossover info

m putting together my own compnent set, Im just curious what are good traits to look for in a crossover? What specific features should I look for? And what are some good brands that are good but reasonably cheap?
Personally, I will always prefer to run an active setup. You will love the ability to adjust and fine tune your system.

Im looking for a 3 way, to run misbass to the rear, mids and highs to the front, and lows to my sub.