DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello and happy New Year from Singapore.

I am upgrading my audio for '18 range rover Velar. Current setup is just base 250w, no Meridian. And it sounds horrible (3-way in front, 2-w in back).

Im no expert (you are!), hence appreciate your advise.

I just ordered Focal ES165KX3 for the front. Can you advise on the best options for the rest?

1. I want to leave the rear speakers unchanged. I keep 2 of them, and disconnect rear tweets. Is this generally a good idea to leave crappy speakers in the back? (Im on a budget).

2. For amp/dsp, local audio guys (in singapore) recommend the Helix V Eight. I am looking to spend $1k -1.3k on the amp. Hence the amp will power 6 speakers in front and 2 in the back, hence 8 im total.
3. Sub ... i am looking for a 250w unit. What is the best option to power the sub? A separate amp, connected to the head unit, or connected to Helix V Eight? Or a sub with built-in amp?
4. Any other advise ?

Thank you

·
Registered
14 Posts
Hello,

I am more curious how you’re gonna tap the signal from HU in RR Velar. Velar’s HU is a delicate device. Did your local audio guys advise on that? If you can safely tap the signal, then the remaining are pretty straight forward.

If you plan to use V 8 with Focal ES165, you may want to omit its passive Xover and go straight to each speaker to maximize output. I’d suggest to get a separate amp for your sub. You already spent a lot on Velar.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello,

I am more curious how you’re gonna tap the signal from HU in RR Velar. Velar’s HU is a delicate device. Did your local audio guys advise on that? If you can safely tap the signal, then the remaining are pretty straight forward.