DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been putting systems in my daily drivers for 25 years and in my last 3 cars I've rolled over the same system... I'm a teacher so I'm always working on a budget but it always sounds great to me. I totaled my Versa a few months ago and I'm getting ready to install into the 2013 Subaru Legacy I recently got. Here is the gear I've been working with: (I tried posting links in case you wanted to look at the specs but I'm too new here)

Alpine head unit CDE-HD148BT - Basic head unit with HD radio and 6 X 4v preamp outputs. I've had this head unit for a while and I really like the way it sounds. It does have a 9 band eq and a parametric eq built in, along with some alignment and crossover functions.

Maestro-SW steering wheel control adapter

Diamond D364.5 - Back in the day the diamond components were always highly touted and I used to have a hex series set 15-20 years ago, but these are nice, not too bright, I don't see a lot about diamond audio nowadays, they must've really fallen off

infinity kappa 6.5" coaxials - really old but good basic coaxials for the rear doors.

Alpine MRV-F300 amplifier to run the components and rear speakers - a nice little clean amp, 50 rms x 4 @ 4 ohms (not so little compared to the new amps, though)

2x 12" Kicker Comp VR Subwoofers in a kicker branded pre-made ported Subwoofer box. (I got a great deal on this and back in the day used to always go with sealed boxes for SQ but loved the way this ported box sounds)

Kenwood 9103D amplifier to run the subs. 900 rms x 1 @ 2 ohms. This amp is nuts.