Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
17,149 Posts
IASCA uses/recommends German Maestro as their "reference"
Headphones

FWIW

I have no experience with any of these
I will in a few days.. I bought a set of MB Quart QP220 same as the GM line.

BUT they are ungodly difficult to drive, my amplifier should arrive today/tomorrow.

·
Registered
1,261 Posts

·
Registered
2,749 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Good replies guys, thanks.

Chad-you're right, found similar sites all the same:(

Notloudenough and Wesayso-too pricey! Wesayso-the site you linked to does back the EMMA claim.

I'm looking in the sub £100 bracket (pref sub £75 as they'll only ever be used tuning my car!)-maybe I'm asking too much performance for so little money?

Any other suggestions?

·
Registered
1,261 Posts

·
Human (not a robot)
2,384 Posts
Good replies guys, thanks.

Chad-you're right, found similar sites all the same:(

Notloudenough and Wesayso-too pricey! Wesayso-the site you linked to does back the EMMA claim.

I'm looking in the sub £100 bracket (pref sub £75 as they'll only ever be used tuning my car!)-maybe I'm asking too much performance for so little money?

Any other suggestions?
This pair is only $119 GMP160 so thats £76.93

Like I said I have no idea. Grado gets good reviews but are pricey IIRC. I remember reading on here (maybe you'll have good luck searching) about a set of Sony's that had flat response from 20-20K. They were very inexpensive. I have been looking at a set of Kicker over the ear headphones that are only $49 at Best Buy.
They seem to be right up my alley.
Good luck in your search, let us know what you decide on.

·
Registered
1,913 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,394 Posts
Linkwitz says the Etymotic ER-4s are a reference set of phones, especially with the inline EQ circuit. But they are about $250 here in the US.

·
Registered
941 Posts