DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Please go easy on me as I'm a newbie and I searched as much as I can and I still feel like I need help here.

The following is what I have for speakers and amps:

Focal Utopia 165W component set.
1 Image Dynamics IDQ 10" Dual 8ohms Sub.
JL Audio 300\4 to run the components
JL Audio 250\1 to run the sub.

I'm thinking of picking up an Audio Control DQXS processor to aid in tuning everything.

The car is a 2002 Mazda Miata and the doors have 3 layers of Xtreme Dynamat and Deflex pads behind the Mid driver but the holes on the inner panels have yet to be sealed.

The problem, ... I'm not happy with the set-up and would like to make my system into a 4-way setup. The doors can accept 8" for the mids as the factory Bose was an 8" driver.

I'm thinking of retaining the TN51 Focal tweeters and using a set of 4" JL Audio mids from the XR653 component set but don't have a Midbass driver yet.

I was told by the local retailer who carries Seas, Peerless, Scan, ... etc. to look into either the Seas W22EX001 or the Scan-Speak 18W/4531G00. But he said that he'd recommend the Scan 18W/4531G00 cause it'll go a little lower in the frequency without distorting whereas he said that the Seas W22EX001 will start to sound a little distorted lower than 50hz so he'd recommend I cross it off at 60hz especially if I like to play it loud.

My concern is that the Scan driver is only a 7" driver and that it won't move as much air as the Seas driver. But I don't have any real listening experience of these speakers in a car so I'm hoping that you guys can help guide me.

Sooo, ... what driver would you guys recommend even if it's not one I mentioned. Also what frequency range would you recommend I cross all my drivers at?