DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm planning on some system revisions and I'm looking for some circuit breakers to install in line with the power feeds to my 2 Zapco DC amps. I like using circuit breakers because I can use them as quick disconnects for the amps if I need to work on them. Why does it seem the industry has moved away from breakers and more to fuses? I've been using breakers for many years and never had issues.

I know people say the breakers don't react fast enough to protect your equipment but the overcurrent protection you put on your power cable does not protect your equipment anyway. The internal fuse on the amp (assuming the amp has one) is what protects your equipment. The protection on the power feed protects the power cable and your car. If I can trust breakers to protect me at home and at work, why not in the car?

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
I've never known the industry to use circuit breakers personally. Was always turned off to them. They wear out. They aren't made to be used a switch.

·
Registered
17,149 Posts
It's not like he's throwing the switch every day..... I feel that it is due to the cost factor, they are not cheap.

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
It's not like he's throwing the switch every day..... I feel that it is due to the cost factor, they are not cheap.
100amp breaker is like 8 bucks on ebay. shipped. That's cheaper than most fuse holders.... and can replace at least 10 fuses before I would give up on it and get a new one.

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yes, breakers do wear but like the ones in your house, they are designed for 1000s of cycles. I don't think I'll be disconnecting that often.

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
I would not trust that any farther than I could throw you, while I was riding in a wheelchair, uphill, with no brakes.