DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Newbie here. Please excuse me for this simple question, but I cant seem to find an answer after searching this forum.

My question is; I'm bridging my 4-channel amp to 2-channel, connected to a 3-way passive component. Therefore the amp can set gains for left and right channel separately.

How do I go about getting the right balance between left and right speakers?
a) Do I just set the gains at equal settings on the amplifier knob? E.g. both knob at 10 o'clock.
b) Should I do it by ear and set the gains until it sounds centered in front of me?
c) Should I use a RTA app on my phone, and set the gains until left and right channel produce equal dB at the driver's seat?

I do not have a standalone DSP, however my head unit (Kenwood DMX718WBT) has time alignment and individual volume level for right and left speakers. Is there any advantage to setting equal gain on amp and adjust the left/right levels on head unit VS setting individual left/right gain on the amp?

Thank you so much in advance!

·
Registered
91 Posts
Set gains properly (if you don’t have the right tools, a basic digital multimeter can help) for both channels. They should be the same.
Then Use TA and other settings on deck to adjust for listening position / imaging etc.

·
Registered
768 Posts
I agree. Set gains with the head settings all flat and use a 1000 hz tone. One side at a time, obviously. Then set time alignment and highpass. The crossover of the headunit is the one to use. Set the amp crossover to full or all pass.

·
Registered
8,421 Posts