DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, all:

I'm basically new to car audio (did install a small system back in 2007, but that's it). I'm looking to install a small-ish system in my car but am lost on what I should get. I have a 2003 Ford Mustang (Basic Stereo). Was planning on installing a 4-way amp in my car and power a pair of 6x8's and two Massive audio 6" subs in the rear deck. I bought everything back in January and installed the 6x8 speakers but never got around to installing the amp or subs yet. The 6x8 speakers I bought ended up blowing for some reason (they were Cerwin Vega's capable of handling 75watts RMS and hooked to a cheap aftermarket Boss stereo, so I'm not sure why they blew). I also ended up making the rear deck holes that were orginally designed for 6x8's bigger since they were going to hold the subs. In the end, I wound up scrapping this whole idea.

Right now, what I'm wanting is just some good 6x8's in the front doors, a pair of nice 6.5" or similar size mids in the rear deck, and maybe a couple small 10's or 8" subs in the trunk (which I'll do down the road, for now I want to focus on the mids and front 6x8's). I don't need anything EXTREMELY loud, but I'm also not someone who listens to their stereo at 30db. I want something that is well balanced, and has smooth thumping lows (of course most of this will be taken care of by the subs, but I expect the other 4 speakers to be able to produce a good balanced sound with decent lows.