DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
616 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For about the last 2.5mo now I have been test driving many different prefab boxes in my standard cab Silverado. None of which will be permanent.. as I have decided against a center console build I had initially been planning.

Right now my favorite is a 12" mounted inverted and bolted to a ~3ft^3 box SEALED!

I've always preferred vented over sealed, but I've never ridden in the trunk before either.. and the internal cabin dimensions on that truck are as small, if not smaller, than most trunks when you take into consideration the seats, dash, speaker box, myself, etc.

Anyway, this is my first attempt at running the SQL 15 in the truck.. so I picked up a like new Skar EVL 15" Vented box tuned to 31hz. I am very aware of Skar's reputation as a more entry level, budget friendly brand.. with less than exceptional performance compared to higher reputated brands such as Sundown, DD, etc.

That being said, for a prefab box, this is definitely one of the better I've seen! It appears to be built relatively well. It does have a dual chambered vent tuned to OEM spec @ 31hz. I still think that's gonna be higher than what I prefer.. at least after logging several hundred miles with sealed 12".

Here's my question/concerns:

1 - What is that center plate, what does it do.. and what will problems if any will it cause if I mount the woofer inverted? Option B: knock it out and have the ability to mount either way.. but do the smaller holes around the magnet hole have some sort of impact on the tuning frequency. My options: mount inverted, or knock it out as my woofer will NOT fit with that whatever it is. (Note the wooden brace on both the top and bottom you see.. is not there on the back side so knocking it out would be relatively easy)

2 - The vent grill is metal, not plastic, and can be removed.. which I easily could cap off and run sealed.