DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not sure if this needs to go here or in Technical, but I see a lot of people pushing "speaker cable" for installs, though I have a LOT of THHN electrical wire. I have also seen a video where the guy tested several brands of amp power cable against welding cable. Surprisingly, the "cheaper brands" (including that he got from Wally World, Scosche I belive) come out on top. What would be the difference in sound quality though? Any?

·
Registered
920 Posts
If the wire is sized properly for the task, the only difference I'm aware of is flexibility, but I'm no expert. (im assuming you are talking about stranded wire, as well). Some will say more strands are better for a whole host of reasons, but it comes down to flexibility, IMO.
I am interested to see how many "pixie dust" answers you get, though.

·
Listener of Music
3,227 Posts
One of my work trucks has had thhn in it for 10 years. No difference. The wire is flexible enough as your using small gauge. The one thing is even though the jacket is stiff it scraps easily on the metal edges of car bodies.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That's pretty much what I was thinking, not much difference in sound though you may have to watch the installation to make sure the insulation doesn't degrade. Still, I hear some types of wire "sound" better than others, such as one claim where the wire has a hollow core that helps it carry high frequencies better.

·
Registered
920 Posts
horseshit. I guess the hollowed portion is where the high frequencies "tunnel directly to the speaker through the center unobstructed, and less likely to pick up any interference":laugh:

·
Blue Collar Audiophile
10,289 Posts