DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I come here in desperation! I am not an expert. My knowledge of mobile electronics is extremely limited and blurred with lies. I like excellent quality sound and I won't settle for less.

I currently own 2 JL audio C5 650 components powered by a 300/2 JL amp (V1 I think)

2 JL w3's in an H.O. Wedge box powered by a 500/1 JL amp (v1 I think)

I recently paid just under $1000 for LABOR! to have this installed. I knew it was too much but I was under the impression I was dealing with a very professional company who would back up their work...
That was a month ago.
Before I drove off the lot I noticed a whine in the right front (like a teapot whistle that increased in pitch and volume over time the speaker was powered) When I mentioned it to the installer he said that because I was using the factory head unit some noise was unavoidable and that he hadn't noticed it.

last week I could smell something burning and i turned the volume very low while driving, a few minutes later I heard a pop from the right front speaker and then the tweeter started sounding very scratchy. The woofer started producing a more audible whine of varying pitch. (still making that sound now)

I switched the left to right outputs from the amp to see what would happen. The scratchy sound is now in the left tweeter and the right speaker (woofer piece of component) still makes that variable pitch whine.

Also, I have a CD with various frequencies that I used to to try to isolate the sounds.
-The variable whine seems to happen no matter what volume or frequency is being sent from the head unit.
-The tweeter still sounds very scratchy, particularly from the right (used to be left before i switched the outputs)
-The tweeter seems to be playing very low frequency sounds (35 hz) which i thought the component's crossover should be blocking.