DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Old aged noob here. Like to say this board is very informative and very civil. Great members.

I have a question about stage height. Will just angling my mids up in a 2 way system raise my stage height? I have a 2 dr coupe (Solara) and right now the center image is right on the dash. I'd like to raise it from my chest height to eye level if possible. Is this possible?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,867 Posts
I would think it would be very very possible. Try changing the angle the tweeters are pointing a few degree's up, as well as each mid, but i really think it depends on what drivers are playing what frequencies and how they are all situated and such. Any more details we could have to get more of an understanting on how your interior is designed and your drivers are situated?

·
Registered
71 Posts
Actually the stock positions in my doors are angled up a good amount in my coupe, and it does raise the stage a good amount. I'd assume that theres a point where you can angle it too much and muck things up pretty badly though.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Right now my tweeters are in the kicks cross firing at the opposite front seat passsengers (I am still tinkering with position). The mids are in the stock location in the door which is forward and low. It fires right into the side of your mid calf area.

I have an Eclipse 8455 and I run an active 2 way setup with the tweeters high passed at about 5K and mids set at 63 low and 4K high. The speakers are an old set of Focal 165K's that I am just using to get general setups taken care of before I get something better. Kind of doing the grunt work now.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·