DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody - newbie here (ive been lurking)

Looking to get my first setup for my 2004 subaru forester 2.5x.

My car was recently rear-ended and I figured while it was going to be in the shop for work anyways I could go ahead and throw in some new speakers to handle my head unit. (Its nothing special, but i've been slowly deteriorating my stock ones with the wattage).

So heres the question - assuming all 4 speakers will be in the doors, and no sub will be installed - whats the best all around speakers for less than $300 for the 4.

Sorry for the college budget but I'm also going to need to get some mounts for them which will run me $45 custom made.

I was looking into alpine's SPR line last year but i never got around to doing it.

please and thanks in advance!

·
Registered
3,451 Posts
Do you have an amp? Or will you be running them off of the OEM or a aftermarket head unit?

If you have an amp, how much power (RMS watts) do you have available?

·
Registered
3,451 Posts
^Yeah, basically I agree.

Okay. You're going to want to look for very efficient speakers in the neighborhood of SPL=90dB+ @ 1w/1m. When you get down to the 85-87dB @ 1w/1m range you'll want to add an amp. Unfortunately, a lot of the popular car audio sets here are not very efficient and ideally need to be amplified. DIY and pro audio speakers will generally be much more efficient, but then you need to come up with DIY crossovers for proper operation, and more thought and time into the setup.