DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got a few questions for you folks out there that build woofers either by trade or for fun.

Here's my situation, I've got a Fosgate P2D410 basket and a Kicker SoloBaric L7 motor I'm going to be mating these two pieces soon and I'm wondering if yall could point me in the right direction when it comes to things like cone height, cone mass, and a few other things related to that.

Also, on a side note, does anyone know for sure if the replacement coils for the L7 are the same throughout their generations. My L7 seems to be an 08+ model with a 2.5 inch coil. I've found replacements but I want to get a little confirmation before purchasing.

I'll get specific with the questioning if I get a reply or two. Thanks in advance guys.

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
Some of the L7's had undersized 2" coils (1.96"), some had regular sized 2" coils (2.015"), some had 2.38" coils, and some had 2.58" coils. It also depends on what size sub the motor came from. You'll have to measure their ID with a caliper.

Is your motor the one with a darker flat finish and a "S" solobaric logo in place of a pole vent, or smooth polished finish with a small pole vent?

A lot of the L7 motors I've got my hands on luckily had the standard 6 x 5" mounting pattern so all the aftermarket baskets will bolt up to it, but you will need to make sure the rockford basket has the same bolt pattern. If not, you will either end up drilling new holes in the basket or drilling and tapping the top plate on the motor. Both of those will require shimming the ID of the basket mounting flange to the pole so that it's centered.

The only other thing I can suggest is avoid stiff spiders and cones with stiff surrounds. I'd put a single soft spider in it. You can also use cones with smaller necks and just cut the neck out to fit your voice coil.

Ultra audio on ebay has a buttload of cool soft parts to choose from.