DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
336 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm currently using the JL 12w6v2 and I like it. I want to do a new install and I'm considering a 10" to make life a bit easier (saves me from cutting carpet and other stuff in the car.

I've never used a 10" before so I have a few questions. I would have two in a sealed box, ~0.8 cu.ft. (each fiberglass box) with 500 watts to each.

1) would i lose a lot of the low bass power?
2) which 10" do you recommend? (SQ) It would have to be max 8" deep

Thanks

·
Registered
64 Posts
Unless you are trying to max out SPL, I can't imagine that a pair of tens with 1000 watts behind them wouldn't provide plenty of low end in a SQ system.

I haven't heard any new subs in awhile so I can't help much with the second question.

·
Registered
1,310 Posts
You have posted three threads and all of them can be answered by searching.

#1 You did not state if your 12w6 is ported or sealed or how many watts are on it. Those will facts will play a large part in answering your questions.

#2 It's all subjective. It seems what I found when searching for a SQ sub was that, IDQ, Adire Koda's, FI Q, Alumapro Alchemy, JL 10w6, and Morel Ultimo where highly regarded 10's by different people. If you could keep a 12", add SI Mag and DIYMA to that list and I think you have lots of options to buy and try. Remember, it's subjective.

·
Registered
5,752 Posts
You could do a Dayton HO12 in that size (.8ft3) enclosure.

I'm thinking about doing 2 HO 12's in about 1.5 ft3. enclosure.

·
Registered
12,569 Posts
Car Stereo Pro Catalog: Image Dynamics IDMAX 10 D2 V3 DUAL 2 OHM

Quote>

"Even at the lowest fundamental frequencies the IDMAX effortlessly reproduces the music faithfully with transient detail and tonal accuracy that is the result of very low harmonic distortion.