DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone.
Here is my situation. I sold some of my equipment, and am now left with enough money and gear to attempt an active system. I wanted to gather some opinions and guidance first before I make any final decisions.
Here is what gear I am left with after the sale:

Headunit:
-JVC arsenal headunit
-Hifonics HFEQ Equalizer

Speakers + Amp:
-2 x Infinity Perfect 6.5 Components (6.5's, tweeters, passive x-overs)
-Hifonics Zeus ZXi150.4 (150w x 4 @ 4ohm, 300w x 4 @ 2ohm)

Subs + Amp:
-2 x Infinity Perfect 10dvq Subs (10", dual 4ohm)
-Hifonics Hifonics Brutus BRZ1200.1D (Subs, 600w per sub @ 1ohm)

Now I have never done an active system before, however I really would like to attempt it after years of being teased with all the positive results I have witnessed.
What I would like to do, Is buy some 6.5" midbass drivers (CDT?) or even some 8" subs. I would use my current tweeters, use one set of my Infinity 6.5's as midanges, and then whatever I pick up (CDT's or 8" subs) for my midbass.

For a crossover, I was looking at the Hifonics HFXR. Hifonics HFXR 2-way / 3-way Active Crossover with Remote Bass

I am thinking cross over as follows:
Tweeters-8khz + up,
Midrange-315hz-8khz,
Midbass- 50hz-250hz.
And my Subwoofers (10") 40hz and below.

Now the questions I am stuck on:

1) Does this seem like I am heading in a decent direction?
2) Would the Infinity 6.5" that I have suffice as midranges, with 8" subwoofers for midbass? Or should I maybe go another route, perhaps with a smaller midrange driver?
3) Is it possible to run dual midrange drivers? (since I do have 2 sets of Infinity Perfect 6.5 comp's?)
4) Would you guys recommend leaving the Infinity Perfect 6.5 and Tweeters on the Passive Crossover, using the HFXR Crossover to make a 2-Way Active set-up?

Final details about the vehicle: