DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I am an electronics tech from 80 or so.

I installed a pair of coils in series, 1 per side, in my Challenger - to 'knock' the highs off midbass - the opposite of a bass blocker, a treble blocker.
Everything tested well sonically, but...
Every once in a while the radio would lock out one of those sides, and tell me "Left Front Open or Short" through OBD. I would reseat radio connector (everything on one) and all would be fine again.
I tried ohming things out, reconnecting everything, etc. a couple of times.
I ran system without series coils for a while - no faults - so not the speaker or amp channel.
Took it all out and redid all, put it back, and the problem moved to the right side.
Apparently I switched sides with the coils.
Now, I'm just inserting a series component's hook up wires into the (cut) factory '+' wires, and soldering everything. I took the coils back out, shook them, beat them as best I could while on an ohmmeter - nothing changed.
I subbed another (3rd) spare coil into the system, problem gone.
For the life of me, I can't figure it out.
If the coil shorted, it would be as though not there at all - series - and not there at all worked fine.
It seems as thought the coil opens - momentarily - and then heals itself. It's wound with good sized (20g?) shellacked wire.
I have no experience with a coil effectively 'opening' to AC, and returning to OK - anyone?

THX guys

·
Registered
2,744 Posts
The radio is testing the speaker when it is active and the coil at some frequency is representing an open circuit, you are asking the radio to work outside of a set of parameters and it can see something it shouldn’t, it’s not that the coil is actually short just it’s out of the parameters the radio considers ‘normal’

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok, thinking through it...