DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So this might be a strange question, but if you read the whole thing it makes sense.

I am a high school science teacher, and I am doing a demonstration regarding the hearing range of humans(generally regarded as around 20hz-20khz). I use a tone generator on the computer hooked up to speakers to demonstrate the high end, and for the low end, I hook up the computer to a home amp powering my IDmax 12v.3 in a sealed box.

The idea is they can obviously hear 50hz, 40hz, 30hz, etc, but when I start playing a 12 or 17hz tone, they can see the cone moving, and feel the vibrations, but they cannot hear it because our ears cannot pick up the sound. I explain to them briefly about subwoofer efficiencies in that it is going to be louder at 50z than 20hz just because of the sub design and box parameters, so I am not implying at all that 15hz should be as "loud" as 55hz.

1. Am I way off with this? I don't think I am, but I am open to suggestions. As I understand it, if there are vibrations, there is sound. We just can't hear this sound.

2. Can an Idmax in around 1.25-1.5 cubes sealed reproduce 15hz? I believe it can to a certain degree.

3. Anyone have any good (legal) programs for test tones? The ones I have used in the past are shareware and expire.

Any suggestions are great.
Thanks!

·
Registered
12,054 Posts
sure it will reproduce it. but as you mentioned, it will not produce it as loudly as higher freq. it takes 4X the cone movement for every octave you lower, so 15 hz is gonna move alot compared to 30 hz for the same power.

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
I wonder if any students will get into car audio due to this lecture. I wish my science teacher would've done this. Cool stuff.

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
minibari-that is what I was thinking. I do try to explain that to them briefly without getting too technical.