DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 186 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, everyone this is my second post. I'd like to share with you the beginnings of my car audio build, the planning and the execution.

I'd encourage your help along the way. I'm an open book, and I will certainly appreciate any help you all provide.

Let me begin real quick by letting you all know my history with car audio. When I was young and dumb I had some crappy Audiobahn 12's and a Kenwood amp. 10 years later and I realize I had no idea what I was doing and still don't. Now I am 32 with a little more jingle in my pocket(albeit not much more) and a re-budding enthusiasm towards hearing my music better in my vehicle.

What I am looking to get out of this build is good, crisp, clean sound. Also, a nice clean aesthetic. I am a designer by trade it's how I support myself and my family so I want this build to be a reflection of that. I would like to keep the vehicle as close to stock or as close to stock looking as possible.

I drive a 2011 Ford Escape. It's my first "New" car(bought it with 20k on the odo but my previous cars were over the century mark when I got them). Currently it has some Polk DB coax's in the front doors and that is it.

I recently did 1/2 of a "Big 3" upgrade on it and terminated it all with Scosche EFX terminals. The negative side is done; I'm waiting for decent weather to do the plus side.

I've got 1/0 gauge power and ground wire, Knu Crystal RCA's and Knu Twisted 10 gauge speaker wire.

Everything is wrapped in orange and black TechFlex and terminated appropriately with a torch, solder and terminals.

I seriously do not know what equipment I will buy or what the final setup will be.

I have some ideas that I will post in a new post. Again any input; even if it's "No don't do that your an idiot." Please post it, I want to know. I'm not interested in making an expensive mistake.