DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
The ultimate poor mans 15" boom box, (6th order BP for low frequency reinforcement)

The idea sprouted when I ended up with a spare driver. We thought the system is already loud and sounds good with rock/country but falls flat on its face with rap, this problem needed to be solved. and I'm a poor college student so i need to fix the problem on the cheep...

Project goals - Build a box that will fill out the low tones that my cheap 70s era budget system just cant reach on a seriously tight budget using only what i have available. Sound quality is minimally important as I'm covering a small frequency band - roughly 25 to 65hz and the rest of my set up is nothing spectacular anyhow. I blew most of the budget on poly fill, i think im up to about $10 lol. most of the materials were free one way or another...

anyways,

driver - 15" fisher from an stv series cab. I had a set with one blown mid and one blown sub, I used them for firewood and saved the working components.

materials - 1/2" plywood (lol) some 3/4" for bracing and the baffle board the sub mounts to.

box design - 6th order bandpass, big chamber is 10.5ft tuned to 27hz, slot port. small chamber is 2ft tuned to 65hz, four 2.25" round ports.

No I could not find driver specs, I tried several cheap pre loaded woofers that seemed similar to this woofer in winisd and found results to be reasonably similar as long as it was a low excursion paper cone 15" woofer from the time period. accurate - not at all, but workable for my intentions. so i started out with this design and figured on changing it a bit later.

some pics, I have since had to add much more bracing but this is how it started out.

notice I added some caps for a simple 1st order 27hz high pass. not ideal but I don't want to bi amp this thing or have to order inductors online for a higher order filter.