DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
855 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been away from this site and others like it for a few years now. I have recently found the time to reengage into some things I want to do, and rebuilding the setup in my truck was high on that list. I have been shopping around for a few months now for new amps with the specific requirements of size and cost as my 2 biggest factors and of course quality but I think that's a given. I also needed to be able to have 6 active channels for a 3 way front stage plus a separate channel to support sub duties for a total of 7 channels minimum. My size constraint is driven by the fact that the vehicle is a regular cab Cheverolet Silverado, so space is at a minimum.

I was unable to find something I could commit to until last week when I viewed a video of a new amp that caught my eye. The video was of a new amp from a company called Toro Tech or Toro Audio, the company is brand new and is structured to only sell in online marketplaces like Amazon. Toro also offers full size amps as well, however it specifically was the comapnies micro amps that met my requirements for size and cost as well as being available in a 4 channel (MRx4), 2 channel (MRx2) and mono block (MR2) for a total of seven channels. Here is the link to the video from Dereck Williston, better known as BigDWiz, from his site at oldschoolstereo.com.

After watching the video he posted and seeing the performance vs. cost as well as size I figured I would take a chance on a new amp company. I purchased these amps via normal retails prices on Amazon, so before anyone asks this review was not funded or supported by the manufacturer. I purchased all 3 amps I am reviewing at the same time from Amazon for a total of 228.93 delivered, suggested retail of all 3 amps on Toro Audio's website is 599.85. I am not sure if we will see a price increase, however I was very happy with what i paid.