DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to the world of aftermarket stereos. I have never had a vehicle I planned to keep long enough to make it worthwhile until now. I need some advice on what direction to go...

I have a 2011 Dodge Ram crew cab that I started to install a system in. Right now it has Infinity perfect 6.1s in the front and back doors, Kappa 3.5s in the dash and 2 Kappa 10s in an enclosure under the rear seat. The doors are powered by an Infinity Kappa four amp and the subs are powered by an Infinity Kappa One amp at 2ohms giving each sub 250 watts RMS. I am not happy with the overall sound so I am replacing my factory headunit with the Alpine w910, along with adding the sirius xm sxv100 tuner. I wasn't happy with the 3.5s so I am replacing them with JBL P426 4" speakers and changing out my headliner speakers in favor of the JBL P26T tweeters. I am adding the Alpine KTP-445 to boost the power to these to 45watts RMS and will continue to run everything else off of my amps.

Two questions:

1. I get a huge discount at Harmon/Kardon so that's why I have stayed with their products up to now. What do you guys think? Any suggestions?

2. I am not extremely impressed with the subs. They have more distorsion than I would like. It may get better once I get a headunit with 4v preouts. If it doesn't what would you guys suggest? Obviously I am going more for overall sound quality not mind numbing bass. I want a sub that will be tight and distortion free as much as possible. I was thinking about the JL 10W3V3 2 ohm subs wired for a 1ohm load which would give them 400 watts RMS.

Thanks in advance guys...

·
Registered
12,053 Posts
dont get that alpine "booster" a real amplifier will sound better and wont cost you much more (if any more)

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·