DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
2007 Toyota Tundra Double Cab
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy Folks!

While I have been interested in audio equipment for many years, this is my first time doing a build with DSP.
Build log Here.

First, I'd like to give props to all you seasoned tuners! I consider myself to have a pretty good ear. And I already see this being difficult for me. But, if I wanted a turn-key system, I could have paid for it... I enjoy the build and I really enjoy learning something new. I have combed through many articles about tuning. I have a basic idea of what needs to be done. And, I have a solid understanding of the physics.

Before someone notices, I know I should wait until everything is installed to do a proper tune. This is a "Rolling Release" and I am just trying to tune a little bit right now.

One of my main issues is which road to take. Do I go with "old school" methods and have at it sitting in the truck and tweak by ear? Or, do I go ahead and buy a mic?

Also, does there happen to be anyone in the Shreveport, LA area that would be willing to help a newb out sometime? I'm not looking for someone to come do it for me. But, another set of ears and opinions would be helpful.

·
Registered
118 Posts
I used my mic to equalize the gains to some extent and also to get a picture of the large deficiencies. Then tune to what sounded good.

There are plenty of charts and what not that can give you guidance based on what you are hearing. If you have a good ear they are helpful.

Here is one of many out there (I use a few different ones to fill in the holes, same info different format and terminology):

Of course you could go the other route and set a curve based on the mic..

·
Registered
185 Posts
Try it by ear first and save it. Then get a mic and learn to use REW. It sounds like you’ll enjoy the process and it will only help in getting things sounding their best.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk