DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to car audio as this is my first personal system, but I'm completely out of ideas as to what may be going on even after months of searching.

I bought a 600w subwoofer package back in March of this year which included a Boss CXXM1250 amp and an Audiopipe TXX BD1-12 sub. The BD-12 is a DVC sub rated at 600w rms and I have it wired at 2 Ohms. The amp is 635w rms at 2 ohms, so I figured it would be a perfect match. If you type in 600w and 2 ohms into an Ohm's law calculator, you get around 34 volts, so that's what I was aiming to hit.

Immediately when I got the system I tried tuning with a DMM but was only able to hit 6.5v with gain and bass boost maxed and head unit volume at 3/4 playing a 50hz test tone. Bass boost on the amp is 18db at 50hz, by the way. I figured the problem was my preamp voltage from my head unit, as it is a pretty crappy one I got for 30 bucks. I bought a PAC LD-10 Line driver thinking it would fix my problems. And it did, for the most part.

Now, with the line driver maxed, the gain, bass boost, and volume maxed, I am able to get a reading of 30.2v on my DMM. When I turn down the gain to about 3/4 of max I get the same reading, 30.2v. At that level my amp is clipping like crazy and sounds like ****. I also get a ton of alternator whine.

So I have a couple questions. 1) What do you think is wrong with my system? Is it my amp? My head unit? My line driver? and 2) Is it going to damage my sub if I am under powering it with an amp that is clipping that bad? I have no intention of running it this way for an extended period of time, just until I get my new amp here in a couple weeks.

Thanks for any help

·
Registered
178 Posts
How is the line driver hooked up? RCA level or speaker level? Or are you referring to a line level converter?