DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to be putting 300wattx2 RMS into 2 500watt RMS subs, until i can get a new amp. what exactly hurts the subs? i blew my old subs with this same amp. i'm guessing my friend turned the gain all the way up, and because i am a novice, i thought nothing of it.

any advice?

·
Registered
584 Posts
No, "underpowering" a driver does not hurt it. Match your input sensitivity (gain) to the preout voltage on your HU and you'll be just fine.

·
Registered
12,572 Posts
A by-product of using too small of an amplifier kills speakers [If the output is not enough the user turns up the gains {15% distortion is hard to hear, at subbass frequencies} which leads to more average power over time ].

Manville quote:

The only thing that thermally damages speakers is power... more specifically: average power over time.

I'll explain...

If you take a given amplifier, let's say 100 watts and operate it just below clipping with music material, the "Crest Factor" of the amplifier's output is equivalent to the "Crest Factor" of the program material.

"Crest Factor" is the difference between the average level of the signal and its peak level. For example, a pure sine wave has a "crest factor" of 3dB, meaning that it's peak level is 3dB higher than its average level. We all know that 3dB represents a power factor of 2, so another way to look at it is that the peak power of the signal is twice that of its average level. So, if we play a sine wave on our 100 watt amplifier, just below its clipping level, the average power (over time) the speaker is needing to dissipate is 50 watts.

A true square wave, by comparison, has a crest factor of 0db, so it has equal average and peak power. Our 100 watt amplifier, playing a square wave, unclipped, into our speaker requires that the speaker dissipates 100 watts of power (twice the heat as a sine wave).