DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 125 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
VW Golf R32 Mosconi Gladen D2 100.4 DSP & Gladen Zero Line, an entry level SQ attempt

After much lurking, I introduced myself here in the New Member Introduction section earlier this year. This is my first build log, and truth be told my, first car audio build, so please take it easy on me. But, by all means, your comments and suggestions are highly welcome. A little warning, I like to write.

Here's the old girl I'm playing with:

(I'm pasting in some of the text from said post, as a little introduction to this build.)

I've been into music (playing) since I was a little kid and in retail high-end home stereo/home theater for over 10 years. When I moved on to another line of work, I was sure that my system at home would be enough and that I wouldn't need sound in the car other than from the stock setup and the lovely sound of the VR6 engine.

One day I had to take off the driver's door card because of an annoying sound. I do really hate annoying sounds. I found the oem speaker's plastic cage had broken around one of the holes and this loose plastic piece had been making rattles. This started the hunt for a little upgrade in sound. I'm very oem, but paying stupid money for new oem speakers, wasn't really an option.

I live pretty close to the Norwegian agent for Mosconi and Gladen, and since the car audio scene is very small over here, I went there. Like I had many other choices, not.

I bought a Gladen One component kit with a 8 mid/woofer. This was supposed to be a car specific kit and shouldn't require any modification. Gladen don't mention this kit is for the five door Golf. The problem with this is that a three door needs cutting in the doorcard, which is not something I'm willing to do, since those parts are not available from VW anymore.