DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just thought I would get a little info before I start spending money. I have a 2000 Accord EX and would like to know where to start on my audio set-up. Right now I have a Pioneer P8300UB h/u, RE Audio 12.1 Amplifier and a small collection of subs. 2 Sundown D/4 SA-12's, a single SA-8" D/4 and a RE Audio SE 15" (pre US Amps buyout). I have no practice or experience with SQ setups, just average SPL systems.
I would like to re-use as much as I can towards a nice sounding SQ system for this car. I have installed nothing yet, waiting till warm weather comes while I stock-pile gear. I listen to a lot of different music but a lot of heavy metal (Lamb of God, Hatebreed, Tool, etc.) followed by blues (Gary Clarke Jr, SRV, Allman Bros) and a little rap (Yelawolf, Devin the Dude, etc.). I would like a pleasent, well sorted system that sounds natural, like a set of good studio headphones where the music just kind of exists as opposed to being forced on you with massive watts.
Now where do I start? I know I'm gonna need 6.5 components and would like to spend around $100 for the set. I know the options Cadence CWM6-kit, Alpine Type G's, MB Quart Onyx, Infinity Reference. But what about the install. I know I need sound deadening but where do I put it? It's rather pricey and would rather not experiment if somebody here can lead me in the right direction. Where do I mount the tweeters? Is the mounting depth too steep on any of these options for my Accord? Any other sets I didn't include? Wouldn't mind buying used off here from a credible seller.
Do I need to amplify these right away or will they be ok of h/u for a while? I have no problem spending <$150 on an amp for these if needed. What are some good budget RCA's to hook everything up? Etc...