DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 95 gmc Sierra two door single cab, Manual locks and windows. This Texas heat is killer so I want to add a remote start so it's not like a sauna when I get in after work! I was looking at the viper 3305 I know it's a older unit but can get one 80$ new in the box.

Next question is how hard of a install is the remote start part? Splicing a couple of wires going to the ignition and solder them up or am I missing something?

Thanks for any input/help!

·
Registered
130 Posts
Should be fairly straight forward. The truck should not be equipped with an immobilizer circuit.
I'm not a DEI expert, but I thought the 3305 was security only....I'm probably wrong.

Constant, ACC, Ignition, and Starter are all in the ignition harness
Parking Lights are at the headlight switch
Brake lights at the pedal
Tach is at the ignition coil which is the most troublesome part of this install. Most people are lazy and don't bother connecting the tach. They usual use virtual tach/tachless instead.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah your right the 3305 doesn't have remote start guess I had it mixed up with another. Anyone have a suggestion? Looking to stay under 100$ for remote start/ keyless entry.

·
5,225 Posts
I have the a Avital 4103xl on 2 cars and it works as it should. I believe they are made by dei and dei makes a version as well that's pretty much the same thing. I paid about $40 for it.

·
Registered
130 Posts
It takes longer, but I like to install units in the following way.

1. Locate and test factory wires in vehicle for function using a DMM
2. Plug in all necessary connectors on R.S. module and temporarily mount it in what will be it's final location
3. Route R.S. wiring to the the factory wires that they will be tied to and cut them to length