Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have this Hifonics HFi55.4 amp:
RMS Power Rating:
4 ohms: 55 watts x 4 chan.
2 ohms: 110 watts x 4 chan.
Bridged, 4 ohms: 220 watts x 2 chan.
laying around and I was hoping to power to small subs with it. It is bridgeable to 220 watts for 2 channels at 4 ohms. My question is should I be buying 2 DVC 2 ohm subs and wire them in series or should I just buy two 4 ohm subs and do they have to be SVC or what's the deal? I'm still new to the audio world

Thanks

·
Registered
2,777 Posts
If you want two subwoofers then these should work

Two 2ohm SVC subwoofers wired in series
Two 8ohm SVC subwoofers wired in parallel

Two 4ohm DVC subwoofers (each wired in parallel for 2 ohms, then two subs wired in series for final 4ohm)

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Would using two 4 ohm SVC subs work as well if I just connected each sub to its own channel without wiring it in series or parallel to the other? If that makes sense. Thanks for the quick response

·
Registered
2,777 Posts
Would using two 4 ohm SVC subs work as well if I just connected each sub to its own channel without wiring it in series or parallel to the other? If that makes sense. Thanks for the quick response
I doubt it, unless you can find a subwoofer that works well on 55watts. I would say that it's best to use bridged setup if you're going to use this amplifier for you sub stage at all. If you're into building ported boxes, a well chosen 10 inch driver could do nicely. If you can afford it, maybe something like Hybrid Audio I10SW subwoofer in a ported/vented box could produce a good result. I personally, if limited to using this amplifier for my sub stage, would put a single high efficiency 12 inch subwoofer, such as Infinity Reference 1262w in a sealed box and call it a day. A 12 inch subwoofer has almost as much cone area as 2 10s, but costs just a little more than one 10 inch subwoofer (from the same subwoofer family).

·
Registered
1,952 Posts