DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Taking the discussion of wideband drivers from my build thread and hopefully continuing it on over here, where it could be easier to find in a simple search.

Some points of discussion:

• Wideband drivers, noteably the Audible Physics XR3M/AR3K being used in MS8 systems without tweeters
  • Wideband drivers being used as mid/tweeter in high quality (car) audio systems
I'm very very new to car audio, and have very limited listening time on my speakers, but am curious to hear the varying opinions on the subject of these drivers.

Do you/would you use them? Are they junk? Are they great standalone speakers? Are they great speakers that need a tweeter?

Thanks!

·
Registered
372 Posts
I would also like input on other so called widebanders. A complete list would be nice. Thanks!

·
Registered
5,234 Posts
The systems I've heard with widebanders were all missing that sparkle that the tweeter gives. Some did very well and sounded fine but there was just something missing in all of them. I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that many people don't hear past 12-14khz so maybe they don't miss that sparkle of the tweeter.

·
Registered
840 Posts
Well, I've read most the links posted by fish and I will read the rest. I guess my (certainly simplistic) question is: Will the full range play as well as dedicated tweeters in the upper end? I've read things about full ranges becoming weak around 10K. Will a good mid bass and a full range provide the same dynamics as a good 2-way comp set? I understand the AP stuff is the cream of the crop but what about the full range drivers that are more reasonably priced? Thanks for the input and thanks for starting this thread, Mr. Nielson.

Edit: BuickGN, you posted while I was typing so, sorry to repeat questions and whatnot.

·
Premium Member
11,394 Posts
Will a full range driver play treble as well as tweeters?