DIYMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hopefully someone here can help me on if this enclosure needs any adjustments, or will work fairly well as is.

The subwoofer in each side calls for the following:
Recommended ported volume .75 - 1 cf Enclosure is currently at .86 cf with port area excluded
Recommended port area: 10.5 inch sq Current port is 8.25" x 1.25" x 17" Length
Recommended Tuning Freq: 39 hz This is what I am really wanting some people to confirm if this port setup is close to 39hz

I do not have any room to increase box outside dimensions. So hopefully, if it does need any adjustment, it can just be going smaller or adjusting port dimensions/length.

Any help would be appreciated greatly. This is my first attempt to make a custom sized ported enclosure to fit into a very niche' space.

· Registered
2010 Jeep JK / 2005 Volvo S60R / 1991 Volvo 744TI SE
158 Posts
Which sub are you planning on using?

Quick and dirty model using the Kicker 78CWR84 in a 0.86cu.ft. enclosure @ 39Hz, wants a port 8.25" X 1.25" X 18.51". If you change the port from 1.25" to 1.156" (1 and 5/32") you get a length of 17.02".

Rectangle Slope Font Parallel Screenshot
Rectangle Font Parallel Slope Technology
Rectangle Font Slope Parallel Screenshot

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Which sub are you planning on using?

Quick and dirty model using the Kicker 78CWR84 in a 0.86cu.ft. enclosure @ 39Hz, wants a port 8.25" X 1.25" X 18.51". If you change the port from 1.25" to 1.156" (1 and 5/32") you get a length of 17.02".
I made a change in my decision on which sub I am using and purchasing. So here is the new information and new sub box. Let me know how you think this will work.

I am now using a Skar Audio SDR-12
Specs for the sub are:
Ported Enclosure Volume: 1.75 - 2.0 cu ft. without port/bracing volume
Recommended Port Area: 25in sq
Recommended Tuning: 34-36hz

My enclosure is 2.0cu ft