DiyMobileAudio.com Car Stereo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Premium Member
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
ZED, ZUKI, ZAPCO, Phoenix Gold Elite, DSP's OH MY...HELP ME CHOOSE!

Hey guys i'm a novice at this and i'm trying to make a decision on an amp for my front and rear components and a DSP..be kind!

I have Focal K2 Power 165KRX2 for the front and rear and was thinking about running them active.

I have been looking at offerings from ZED, ZUKI, ZAPCO Z-LX, Phoenix Gold Elite...I would like to stay under $900.00 for the amp for sure. I am open to other suggestions as well, but if possible would like to buy American. I really don't want to have a discussion about American vs import, but I am open to import models also.

Also, need help choosing a DSP. Would like to go active for the whole set up, but that would require a 10 CH DSP from what I understand. Right now the only ones I see available are from Helix (DSP PRO 2) and Audio Control and I would probably go Helix due to the remote control being more dynamic but they are expensive.

Was thinking about Alpine PXA h800 (8ch), but not sure how I would run the setup...do I use all 8 ch to run the components active and leave the subwoofer off of the DSP (is that possible) or would I run the front active, rear passive plus the subwoofer?

Thanks in advance...I appreciate your constructive and informative suggestions!

·
Banned
2,276 Posts
A few things.
Zuki has horrible customer service. ZED isn't much better.
You will want the DSP to control everything

·
Registered
598 Posts
Scratch Zed off the list...you'll find a trail of horror stories leading right to their doorstep...and customer service (for me) was non-existent.

I will echo the notion of getting a dedicated DSP to control everything...I have the PXA-H800 w/RUX and I love it.

·
Premium Member
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·